Hermann Schmidt Award

In 1996 W. Bertelsmann Verlag and the Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB) (Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training) established the non-profit association “Innovative Berufsbildung e. V.“ in order to initiate, promote and publicise innovative trends in vocational education and training. It launched a competition named after Prof. Dr. Hermann Schmidt who was the chairman of BIBB from 1977 to 1997.

Each year, since 1997, the association “Innovative Berufsbildung e. V.“ awards the Hermann Schmidt Award for special achievements in selected areas of vocational training.